7800 ° Fahrenheit

Released on March 27, 1985

Recorded at The Warehouse, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania



01. In And Out Of Love - Jon Bon Jovi - 4:25

02. The Price Of Love - Jon Bon Jovi - 4:14

03. Only Lonely - Jon Bon Jovi, David Bryan - 5:02

04. King Of The Mountain - Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora - 3:54

05. Silent Night - Jon Bon Jovi - 5:07

06. Tokyo Road - Jon Bon Jovi, RIchie Sambora - 5:41

07. The Hardest Part Is The Night - Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, David Bryan - 4:25

08. Always Run To You - Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora - 5:00

09. (I Don't Wanna Fall) To The Fire - Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, David Bryan - 4:27

10. Secret Dreams - Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, Tico Torres, Bill Grabowski - 4:56



Jon Bon Jovi - Lead vocals / Guitar

Richie Sambora - Lead guitar / Backing vocals

Alec John Such - Bass guitar / Backing vocals

Tico Torres - Drums / Percussion

David Rashbaum - Keyboards / Backing vocals


Additional personnel

Tom Mandel – Keyboards

Phil Hoffer - Backing vocals



Larry Alexander

Obie O'Brien

Bill Scheniman



Lance Quinn




 Chartname                                                       Peak position                                    Weeks in chart

US Billboard 200

German Top 100







Only Lonely

released in April 1985


US Billboard Hot 100


In And Out Of Love

released in July, 1985


Billboard Rock Chart

US Billboard 100


The Hardest Part Is The Night

released on August 21, 1985




Silent Night

released on October 22, 1985


Billboard Mainstream Rock Charts


The Price Of Love

(Japan only)


























































The Videos


  • After the disaster that had been Runaway, the band was keen to have more of a say in how the new material was going to be filmed


  • In And Out Of Love was recorded in Asbury Park at the New Jersey shoreline where basically all band members had grown up and spent their youth. The storyline centered around the band travelling around the world, being chased around by crazy fans, playing a concert on a small stage in Asbury Park and then taking off to Japan right afterwards


  • For Only Lonely, an unknown director was hired once again and it lead right into the next disaster: not only was the storyline confusing and didn’t make any sense, but there were no shots of the full band in there because the director allegedly didn’t get the note that Bon Jovi were a band. Jon later added: “This guy shoots the video, puts his fuckin’ brother in it eight times, puts Richie in it twice!”


  • Another video was filmed for Silent Night which had live shots of the band mixed together with a story of a couple facing relationship problems


  • None of the videos were able to really make an impact. Remember that during those days MTV wasn’t even available in Europe and the medium of a videoclip had yet to mature


  • A VHS was released afterwards with all videos from the first two albums included. It also contained another video for The Hardest Part Is The Night which was essentially the band’s performance from Tokyo 1985 with a few studio shots mixed in





  • After the moderately successful first record, the band was kept in an identity crisis when it came to writing the follow-up. Jon: “We didn’t know what was expected of us. Do we have a voice in the market place? Do we need to write ten Runaways or could we say something else?”


  • It was about the most difficult time in the band’s early career as they all had relationships and marriages that were falling apart during that era


  • In 2009, Jon stated during an interview at the “Inside The Actor’s” studio that he “hated that record”, furthermore explaining: “You have your whole life to write that first album, you have six weeks to write the second one”


  • The album was set to be recorded in Philadelphia at the Warehouse Studios and when the band was on their way the first day, Tico’s green Chevy station wagon broke down and they were stranded. Jon later on joked: “We should’ve just turned around.”


  • In an interview shortly after the end of their support tour for the first album, Jon mentioned having written two new songs: Danger Zone and Afraid of the Night. It’s likely to assume that the latter might’ve morphed into The Hardest Part Is The Night, but to this day that’s nothing more than speculation.


  • The band mentioned that their demo tapes had been stolen at some point which lead to them literally carrying the recordings with them from the studio and back again afterwards


  • Since the album was done in such a short time frame, it can be assumed that not much more songs exist other than the ten released tracks and We Rule The Night which later on appeared on the Box Set in 2004


  • Once again, Bon Jovi worked with Lance Quinn on the production front. However, a few years afterwards Jon stated that he remained puzzled about certain things Lance had done in the mixing process “like doubling up the guitars and vocals at every opportunity”


  • Even though the album wasn’t the international breakthrough everyone involved had hoped for, it still spawned to singles that entered the Top-100 Billboard charts and Bon Jovi were able to play their first headliner shows in Japan and Europe on the back of that 2nd album





  • Whereas the first album had been done live in full, the band never opted to play all of the Fahrenheit record, even though their headline shows would have given them the opportunity to play more tracks. This might be an indication that Bon Jovi weren’t satisfied with some of the tunes right from the beginning.


  • Even though many nights weren’t documented in any way, it’s likely to assume that (I Don’t Wanna Fall) To The Fire, The Price Of Love (even though it was a radio single in the US) and Secret Dreams have never been played live since the setlists were quite static throughout the tour.


  • The only other album to have three songs of it never appearing on a setlist was The Circle in 2009.


  • Always Run To You was played twice during the Japanese leg in early 1985 and after that there’s no evidence of the song having re-entered the setlists at any point.


  • After the 1985 tour and with the success of Slippery Whet Wet, the band rapidly cut down on the amount of Fahrenheit songs in their setlists. At first, Silent Night held the ballad spot until the band felt that Never Say Goodbye could take its place in early 1987. Bar the odd exception in Japan, only Tokyo Road and In And Out Of Love would be played regularly until the end of that tour.


  • By the time the New Jersey tour came around, only Tokyo Road would remain a semi-regular song in the setlists and the rest of the album was ignored. Silent Night made one more surprise appearance at Hammersmith Odeon in London in 1990.


  • During the 90’s and 2000’s, only Tokyo Road was played at some gigs in Japan.


  • In 2010, much like with the first album, the band did some songs again on the first leg: Tokyo Road was played once during a warm-up show in Honolulu and Only Lonely appeared a handful of times in the USA before being put to rest as well.


  • The Hardest Part Is The Night had been rehearsed for the 2010 tour and a Soundboard recording made its way onto the web, making it obvious why the song wasn’t done anymore: Jon’s vocals were barely able to handle it.


  • When the band played their 12-night stint at the O2 arena in June 2010, fans requested In And Out Of Love and, right before Wanted, Jon and Richie started playing around with the main riff on their acoustic guitars with Richie having every intention to actually play the song. In the end, Jon told him to stop and they started Wanted instead, making it the last “sighting” of anything connected to the Fahrenheit record at a Bon Jovi concert.


For further information check out the tour section.